Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Cramlington Rockets RLFC app


10 Rockets Shortlisted for Regional Awards

By Jeff Ball

Awards Ceremony to be held at Kingston Park in September.

Ten of the Rockets Family are in the running for recognition at the prestigious North East Rugby League Awards next month.

With a gala dinner being held at Kingston Park Stadium on the evening of 7th September, the awards are set to recognise the efforts of both the junior and senior parts of North East Rugby League.

Five of the Rockets’ nominations come from on-the-pitch. Lochlann Thomson is in the running for U12s Player of the Year having successfully lifted the U12s Cup last month.

There are two Rockets up for the U14s prize, with Jordan Webster and Finley Wilkinson on the six man shortlist to reflect the team’s achievement of reaching two finals this season. Wilkinson was also shortlisted last season for the U12S award.

The U16s Orange squad are represented too, with Kieran Robins up against players from Gateshead, Catterick and Yarm.

Having progressed from the junior section, exciting fullback Ryan Hull has impressed for the Rockets 1st team in the Premier Division and is shortlisted for Young Player of the Year.

Off the field, U8s Coach Aaron Mitchell has been part of an excellent year for the age group and earned himself a place on the list for Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year.

He is joined by U12s Coach, Phil Stephenson who is up for Junior Coach of the Year for his part on the development and growth of the club’s U12s, as well as assisting other teams when needed.

Sarah Stephenson, the U12s Team Manager is in the running for the Volunteer of the Year award, meaning it’s been a good year for the Stephenson household.

Finally, U16s Coaches, Richard Robinson and Jordan Robinson (this time no relation) are up against each other for the Match Official of the Year – neither are listed as being from ‘Cramlington Rockets’ as they act independently for the North East Match Officials when refereeing. But they still count in our eyes.

In total there are 11 clubs recognised, with Catterick Crusaders leading the way with 12 nominations. As well as those mentioned, other awards include Spirit of the Community, Men’s Coach of the Year and Men’s Player of the Year.

“We are very, very pleased to see so many Rockets on the list” said Chairman, Jeff Ball. Every nomination has a story to tell that points to why we have had another good year. For example, on the playing side, we have had the U12s enjoy massive growth and their success in the Cup, and the U14s have come on leaps and bounds from last year.

Then we have the U16s who have had a great atmosphere and numbers despite it being GCSE year for many of them and it’s great to see Ryan Hull’s name there too in the men’s categories, which serves as a reminder to our juniors that there is a pathway once you leave U16s.”

With the Rockets blessed with a huge number of committed volunteers, Ball was thrilled with the names picked this year: “At every age group we have some great people who make us who we are, keep us ticking along and really make us the Rockets Family. In Aaron, Phil and Sarah, we have some of the nicest, most committed people you’ll meet.

Not a lot of people know that Aaron does ever-changing shift work, but he’s always here as much as he can, switching work around if he can to avoid missing a session.

The Stephensons too, they’ve been here several years now and every year they just seem to get more and more involved. Phil has been helping out at other age groups as well as his own and Sarah has really helped bring on newer volunteers and guide us through the new online registration system. I just hope they both win or the drive home could be interesting!”

Those shortlisted will be contacted shortly by the club to discuss tickets for attending.

Rockets shortlisted & respective category
Lochlann Thomson - U12’s Player of the Year
Jordan Webster – U14’s Player of the Year
Finley Wilkinson – U14’s Player of the Year
Kieran Robins – U16’s Player of the Year
Aaron Mitchell – Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year
Sarah Stephenson – Volunteer of the Year
Richard Robinson - Match Official of the Year
Jordan Robinson - Match Official of the Year
Phil Stephenson - Junior Coach of the Year
Ryan Hull – Young Player of the Year (U19)

North East Rugby League Award Night Nominations in full

U12’s Player of the Year
Elijah Delaidriti – Catterick Crusaders
Osea Navuso – Catterick Crusaders
Lochlann Thomson – Cramlington Rockets
Louie Godfrey – Gateshead Storm
Riley Maitland – Gateshead Storm
Nathan Proctor – Whitley Bay Barbarians

U14’s Player of the Year
Ryan Crossley – Gateshead Storm
Ben Armstrong – Whitley Bay Barbarians
Jeremy Civil – Catterick Crusaders
Jordan Webster – Cramlington Rockets
Josh McDermott – Gateshead Storm
Finley Wilkinson – Cramlington Rockets

U16’s Player of the Year
Rupert Civil – Catterick Crusaders
Olly Bale – Catterick Crusaders
Aiden Simpson – Yarm Wolves
Henry Bowler – Yarm Wolves
Tyler Hepple – Gateshead Storm
Kieran Robins – Cramlington Rockets

Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year
Mark McCallan – Gateshead Storm
Gary Palmer – Yarm Wolves
Tracy Bowie – Alnwick Bears
Ian McKechnie – Catterick Crusaders
Aaron Mitchell – Cramlington Rockets

Spirit of the Community Award
Dave Bell – Jarrow Vikings
Michelle n Geoff Hurst – Gateshead Storm
Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders
Rob Philips – Alnwick Bears
Alix Bowler – Yarm Wolves

Volunteer of the Year
Peter Lynn – Yarm Wolves
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm
Rob Phillips – Alnwick Bears
Sarah Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets
Jayne Whitby – Catterick Crusaders

Match Official of the Year
Rhett Johnson
Richard Robinson
Scott Stanley
Jamie Hooper
Jordan Robinson

Junior Coach of the Year
Phil Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets U12’s
Phil Shaw – Yarm Wolves U16’s
Nigel Froggatt - Gateshead Storm U14’s
Steve O’Reilly – Catterick Crusaders U16’s
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm U12’s

Men’s Coach of the Year
George Taylor – Jarrow Vikings
Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders
Karl Stephenson – Durham Demons
Barry McGuffog – Edinburgh Eagles
Alan Stevenson – Wallsend Eagles
Jake Egglestone – Durham Tigers

Young Player of the Year

Adam Hay – Wallsend Eagles
James Cook – Durham Demons
Ryan Hull – Cramlington Rockets
Jack Ingles – Gateshead Storm
Callum Piert – Catterick Crusaders
Lucas Reid – Edinburgh Eagles

Player of the Year
Jimmy Baldwin – Wallsend Eagles
Luke Elliot – Durham Demons
Lewis Clarke – Edinburgh Eagles
Daniel Bonham – Catterick Crusaders
Lewis Boyle – Durham Tigers
Ben Dalton – Jarrow Vikings

Updated 19:44 - 3 Aug 2018 by Jeff Ball

Where next?

Rockets Reveal SENsational Programme Alongside a new partnership with Autism Northumberland.
Help This Rocket Play for Great Britain Lewis Davey selected for tour of Turkey.


Loading comments

Sat 27 Jul
Festival 10:00
Festival 10:00
Sat 3 Aug
Festival 10:00
Festival 10:00
Festival 10:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors