Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Cramlington Rockets RLFC app


Two Triumph At North East Awards

By Jeff Ball

Two winners for Cramlington

Another fantastic night at the North East Rugby League Awards was made even better by news that two Rockets had won awards.

The recipients on the night were U12s Player of the Year, Lochlann Thomson, and Volunteer of the Year, Sarah Stephenson.

Sadly the other eight nominees missed out but just to be on the list is a tremendous achievement.

On a electric night for the North East, those in attendance were treated to a night both looking back at the season and to the future.

"We are very proud of our two winners" said Chairman Jeff Ball.

"Just to be nominated is something and we're thrilled so many have been.

It's a big boost for the club and inspires us to keep going."

Rockets shortlisted & respective category[ * denotes winner /b]
Lochlann Thomson*- U12’s Player of the Year
Jordan Webster – U14’s Player of the Year
Finley Wilkinson – U14’s Player of the Year
Kieran Robins – U16’s Player of the Year
Aaron Mitchell – Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year
Sarah Stephenson* – Volunteer of the Year
Richard Robinson - Match Official of the Year
Jordan Robinson - Match Official of the Year
Phil Stephenson - Junior Coach of the Year
Ryan Hull – Young Player of the Year (U19)

[b]North East Rugby League Award Night Nominations in full

U12’s Player of the Year
Elijah Delaidriti – Catterick Crusaders
Osea Navuso – Catterick Crusaders
Lochlann Thomson – Cramlington Rockets
Louie Godfrey – Gateshead Storm
Riley Maitland – Gateshead Storm
Nathan Proctor – Whitley Bay Barbarians

U14’s Player of the Year
Ryan Crossley – Gateshead Storm
Ben Armstrong – Whitley Bay Barbarians
Jeremy Civil – Catterick Crusaders
Jordan Webster – Cramlington Rockets
Josh McDermott – Gateshead Storm
Finley Wilkinson – Cramlington Rockets

U16’s Player of the Year
Rupert Civil – Catterick Crusaders
Olly Bale – Catterick Crusaders
Aiden Simpson – Yarm Wolves
Henry Bowler – Yarm Wolves
Tyler Hepple – Gateshead Storm
Kieran Robins – Cramlington Rockets

Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year
Mark McCallan – Gateshead Storm
Gary Palmer – Yarm Wolves
Tracy Bowie – Alnwick Bears
Ian McKechnie – Catterick Crusaders
Aaron Mitchell – Cramlington Rockets

Spirit of the Community Award
Dave Bell – Jarrow Vikings
Michelle n Geoff Hurst – Gateshead Storm
Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders
Rob Philips – Alnwick Bears
Alix Bowler – Yarm Wolves

Volunteer of the Year
Peter Lynn – Yarm Wolves
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm
Rob Phillips – Alnwick Bears
Sarah Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets
Jayne Whitby – Catterick Crusaders

Match Official of the Year
Rhett Johnson
Richard Robinson
Scott Stanley
Jamie Hooper
Jordan Robinson

Junior Coach of the Year
Phil Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets U12’s
Phil Shaw – Yarm Wolves U16’s
Nigel Froggatt - Gateshead Storm U14’s
Steve O’Reilly – Catterick Crusaders U16’s
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm U12’s

Men’s Coach of the Year
George Taylor – Jarrow Vikings
Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders
Karl Stephenson – Durham Demons
Barry McGuffog – Edinburgh Eagles
Alan Stevenson – Wallsend Eagles
Jake Egglestone – Durham Tigers

Young Player of the Year

Adam Hay – Wallsend Eagles
James Cook – Durham Demons
Ryan Hull – Cramlington Rockets
Jack Ingles – Gateshead Storm
Callum Piert – Catterick Crusaders
Lucas Reid – Edinburgh Eagles

Player of the Year
Jimmy Baldwin – Wallsend Eagles
Luke Elliot – Durham Demons
Lewis Clarke – Edinburgh Eagles
Daniel Bonham – Catterick Crusaders
Lewis Boyle – Durham Tigers
Ben Dalton – Jarrow Vikings

Updated 08:34 - 8 Sep 2018 by Jeff Ball

Where next?

End of Season Party - Tickets Now Available Book your tickets by 1st October.
Rocket Tots – New Set of Six & Updates Book online to guarantee your place.


Loading comments

Sat 30 Mar
Sat 6 Apr
Festival 10:00
Festival 10:00
League 11:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors