Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Cramlington Rockets RLFC


Donaghy Secures Top Prize

9 months ago By Jeff Ball

U16 Alex Donaghy crowned NE Player of the Year

Members of the North East rugby league community assembled at Kingston Park Stadium this evening (Friday 8 September) as Newcastle Thunder’s home ground played host to the annual North East Rugby League end of season awards.

An opportunity for all clubs in the region to celebrate another successful year, the night saw a total of 10 awards recognise the efforts of people from across the game.

The Rockets had nine nominees across seven categories, with Alex Donaghy securing the U16s Player of the Year trophy.

Donaghy won at the expense of teammate Nathan Clemmitt, both of whom recently represented England Youth versus Wales, with Donaghy showing his class and paying tribute to Clemmitt during his acceptance speech.

With U12s and U14s also recognised, there was also recognition bestowed upon match officials, coaches and volunteers who all combine to ensure games take place and the sport continues to grow in the area.

The headline awards saw Wallsend Eagles Stephen Bradley named Men’s Coach of the Year while Jarrow Vikings Derick Worthington walked away as Player of the Year.

Reflecting on the evening, Newcastle Thunder club manager Jordan Robinson said: “It was a pleasure to host the North East Rugby League awards evening at Kingston Park and recognise all that is good about the sport in the region.

“It was great to see so many people from the community game come together and make what was an enjoyable night.”

2017 North East Rugby League awards - nominees and winners

Spirit of the Community Award
Jen & Baz Egglestone (Durham Tigers) -WINNER
Michelle Scott (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Chloe Bell (Gateshead Storm)

Referee Of The Year

Adam Houston
Gavin Houston - WINNER
Jordan Robinson

Volunteer Of The Year

Steve Lamb (Cramlington Rockets)
Goeff & Michelle Hurst (Gateshead Storm)
Rob Jones (Gateshead Storm)
Toby Bell (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Emma Smith (Catterick Crusaders) -WINNER
Helen Taylor (Peterlee Pumas)

Junior Coach Of The Year

Alan Stevenson (Wallsend Eagles U16’s)
Christian Button (Catterick Crusaders U12’s)
Jordan Robinson (Cramlington Rockets U16’s Black)
Phil Shaw (Yarm Woves U14’s)
Ieuan Bodman (Gateshead Storm U14’s) -WINNER
Sharon McCoy (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

Men’s Coach Of The Year

Stephen Bradley (Wallsend Eagles) - WINNER
George Taylor (Jarrow Vikings)
Dave Townend (Cramlington Rockets)
Jason Grant (Catterick Crusaders)

Young Player Of The Year

Jared Poole (Catterick Crusaders)
James McGurk (Jarrow Vikings) - WINNER
Jack Redfern (Cramlington Rockets)
James Cook (Durham Demons)
Alex Coxon (Peterlee Pumas)

Player Of The Year

Louis Platt (Cramlington Rockets)
Derick Worthington (Jarrow Vikings) - WINNER
Neil Emmerson (Gateshead Storm)
Marc Willey (Durham Demons)
Austin Phillips (Wallsend Eagles)

U12’s Player Of The Year

Joe Dunham (Cramlington Rockets)
Bryce Dixon (Whitley Bar Barbarians) -WINNER
Finlay Wilkinson (Cramlington Rockets)
Xander Connelly (Catterick Crusaders)
Lewis Urwin (Gateshead Storm)

U14’s Player Of The Year

Dan O'Rielly (Catterick Crusaders)
Elliot Shaw (Yarm Wolves) – JOINT WINNER
Jake Anderson (Gateshead Storm) -JOINT WINNER
Cameron Young (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Tyler Hepple (Gateshead Storm)

U16 Player Of The Year

Tyler Walton (Wallsend Eagles)
Will Todd (Durham Tigers)
Nathan Clemmitt (Cramlington Rockets)
Rupart Civil (Catterick Crusaders)
Alex Donaghy (Cramlington Rockets) -WINNER
Matthew Hurst (Gateshead Storm)

Updated 12:30 - 11 Sep 2017 by Jeff Ball

Where next?

Thunder Army Needed in York for Crunch Clash Newcastle Thunder are running a supporters' bus this Sunday.
Family Fun Day 16th September - All You Need To Know Christopher Wallace Day returns for all the Rockets Family


Loading comments

Sat 23 Jun
League C – C
Friendly 10:00
U16s Orange Gateshead Storm
Friendly 11:00
Cup 11:00
Sun 24 Jun
U16s Black Hunslet Warriors
League P – P
Wed 27 Jun
1st XIII Durham Demons
League 19:30
Sat 30 Jun
Friendly 10:00
Friendly 10:00
U16s Orange Yarm Wolves
League 11:00
1st XIII Peterlee Pumas
League 14:30

News sponsors


Club sponsors